Back in the game

17 Dec

It’ been a minute since I’ve been here. But there’s no time like the present to get back on the horse. Back on the wagon. Back in the game.

When I created this blog, I envisioned its primary use as something of a marketing tool for Lemon Tree Cookies. I still hope it can be that. But as I find myself wanting (even needing) to write more; looking for a space to share my thoughts and ideas and take ownership of something I create – I figured this was the place to do it.

I’m trying to breathe some much-needed new life into Lemon Tree, my baby who I have shamefully neglected over the last 10 months. I had so many reasons over the last year why I was just too busy to move this project forward. I started a new job. I’m getting married. I’m moving into a new apartment. And the list goes on.

But you know what? “I’m too busy” is never an excuse. What I should have said was, “It’s not a priority,” because I think if we’re honest with ourselves, we all know that we’re never really too busy for anything. We always make time for the things that are important or that we want with all our hearts.

That’s not to say that Lemon Tree Cookies is not actually a priority, because it is. But it’s also a little scary. Starting something new, taking risks, putting yourself, your ideas and your passions on the line is scary. But isn’t that the point? Aren’t we supposed to do things that scare us? That remind us why life is exciting? That ignite our senses and our passions?

So here’s my challenge to myself and to you: be the master of your fear. Whether it’s a new business venture, an exciting new project or set of responsibilities at your current job, a promising new relationship or that book you’ve always wanted to write. Conquer it. The only thing standing between you and your dreams is yourself.

Figure out what your priorities are and don’t let yourself get in your way.

action

One Response to “Back in the game”

  1. Jeff Rothe December 25, 2013 at 1:15 pm #

    One can have no smaller or greater mastery than mastery of oneself. — Leonardo da Vinci

Leave a Reply

